image

LEMONS

What do you do when you lose everything that means anything?

Nine-year old Lemonade Liberty Witt doesn’t know the answer to that question, except what her mom taught her. When life gives you lemons, you make lemonade. But what if those lemons are so big that you forget how?

How do you make lemonade out of having to leave everything you know in San Francisco to move to the small town of Willow Creek, California and live with a grandfather you’ve never even met? In a town that smells like grass and mud and bugs. With tall pines instead of skyscrapers and dirt instead of sidewalks. Not to mention one woolly beast lurking in the woods.

That’s right, Bigfoot.

A ginormous wooden statue of the ugly thing stands right at the center of town like he’s someone real important, like the mayor or something. And the people here actually believe he’s real and hiding somewhere out in the pine filled forests.

How can anyone possibly be expected to make lemonade out those rotten lemons?

Everything is different and Lem just wants to go back home. And then she meets Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives, Inc. and sole investigator for the town. He invites her to be his Assistant for the summer and she reluctantly agrees. At least until she can figure out her escape plan.

Together, Lem and Tobin try to capture a shot of the elusive beast on film and end up finding more than they ever could have even imagined.

 

NEWS, PRAISE, AND BOOK PROGRESS

“An enjoyable and welcome exploration of sorrow, healing, and friendship.” —School Library Journal

“An enjoyable and comforting middle-grade handbook on navigating new experiences and the heartache of losing loved ones early in life.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Savage injects enough humor, mystery, and lively interaction among the characters to give this two-hanky debut a buoyant tone.” —Booklist

 

LEMONS ON THE INDEPENDENT BOOKSELLERS’ DEBUT PICKS OF THE SEASON!

Indies Introduce Winter/Spring 2017 Independent Booksellers’ Debut Picks of the Season. Two panels of booksellers chose the Indies Introduce titles—10 adult and 10 children’s—as the best of the Winter/Spring 2017 debuts.

LEMONS, MELISSA SAVAGE

Crown Books for Young Readers, 9781524700126, May 2, 2017 (Middle Grade)

When Lemonade Liberty Witt is forced to move from San Francisco to Willow Creek, California, she is not sure how to handle all of the Bigfoot excitement, small town weirdness, and meeting her grandfather for the first time. In the spirit of making lemonade, Lem takes a job assisting the inquisitive and friendly Tobin, a local Bigfoot investigator, on his search to catch Bigfoot on film. Through her investigations of the town and Bigfoot, Lem might just find the answer to some very big questions, as well as the location of the nearest Bigfoot. Melissa Savage has managed to distill all of the grief of a major loss, the joy of discovery, and the fear of rebuilding into one magnificent middle-grade novel. Lemons is not to be missed.

Molly Olivo, Barstons Child’s Play (Washington, DC)

I can’t wait to give Lemons to young readers and adults alike! Savage perfectly combines whimsy with gravity, all in a colorful historical setting. This novel will be perfect for fans of One Crazy Summer, by Rita Williams-Garcia and Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer, by Kelly Jones.

-Johanna Albrecht, Flyleaf Books (Chapel Hill, NC)

 

 

PENGUIN RANDOM HOUSE RELEASES LEMONS FOR PREORDER!

ABOUT LEMONS

Fans of Kate DiCamillo’s Flora & Ulysses and Katherine Applegate’s Crenshaw will fall in love with this charming adventure story about a girl learning to accept her new life, her quirky detective neighbor, and their epic search for Bigfoot.
 
Lemonade Liberty Witt’s mama always told her: When life gives you lemons, make lemonade. But Lem can’t possibly make lemonade out of her new life in Willow Creek, California—the Bigfoot Capital of the World—where she’s forced to live with a grandfather she’s never met after her mother passes away.

Then she meets eleven-year-old Tobin Sky, the CEO of Bigfoot Detectives Inc., who is the sole Bigfoot investigator for their small town. After he invites Lem to be his assistant for the summer, they set out on an epic adventure to capture a shot of the elusive beast on film. But along the way, Lem and Tobin end up discovering more than they ever could have imagined. And Lem realizes that maybe she can make lemonade out of her new life after all.

“I love books about feisty girls and nerdy boys. Melissa Savage’s astoundingly good debut novel is packed with humor, mystery, friendship, family secrets, and even Bigfoot! I think you’ll love it, too.”
Karen Cushman, Newbery Medalist for The Midwife’s Apprentice

YOU CAN ORDER A COPY OF LEMONS NOW!

Penguin Random House BooksFind a local Independent Bookshop near youBarnes and Noble, Target or ITunes.

 

Or try LEMONS on audio with Listening Library, narrated by Tara Sands. Try a sample here!

 

Audio

 

Midwest Indie Bestsellers List CHILDREN (YA and Middle Grade) WOW!

FullSizeRender

The Not So Boring Book Show Podcast – LISTEN HERE! Thank you Stacy, Angela and Ella!

 

 

CHICKEN HOUSE BOOKS ANNOUNCEMENT

img_1620

In April 2016 the amazing Barry Cunningham and his team at Chicken House Books purchased Lemons for the UK and Commonwealth of Nations for publication Spring of 2017!  The book will be entitled Bigfoot, Tobin and Me with Chicken House Books.

One thought on “Lemons

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s